Answered By: Ming Guang Han
Last Updated: Jun 11, 2015     Views: 401

Community, sub-community, collection and item are terms used in DSpace (platform used to implement ScholarBank@NUS). The content in the repository is organized around communities which can correspond to administrative entities such as schools, faculties, departments, laboratories and research centres. Each community can be further divided into sub-communities.

Refer to diagram below for the basic organization of DSpace community, sub-community, collection and item.


Communities or sub-communities contain collections, which are groupings of related content. For instance, one collection can be set up for conference papers, another for journal articles within the same department. Each collection contains items, which are the basic archival elements of the repository. A submitted record in ScholarBank@NUS is known as an item. Each item contains metadata and full-text documents, images and data etc which are uploaded to the repository. Metadata is required to describe the item. Without metadata no one would understand what the item is all about. Examples of metadata are title, author, keywords etc.

Related FAQs

    Related Library Guides